Insights through Illusion for Daily Living

Why I do What I do

How it Started

I didn’t grow up thinking I’d be a Christian Illusionist. At fifteen years old, my life changed from the inside out.  I chose to follow Jesus Christ.  Shortly after that I felt called into ministry.  That was where things got hard.  I didn’t know what direction God was leading me into. I took a position at my home church as Jr. High minister.  I learned quite a lot about ministry through this and decided I wanted to get my degree in Christian Studies.  I went to University of Mobile and fell in love with the study of Apologetics.  There were several opportunities and doors that were presented to me. The problem was, none of them seemed right.

At the same time, I was following an interest and hobby of mine. Magic, illusions, or whatever people preferred to call it.  The thing was that as an illusionist I knew that it was all a trick. That everything had a method behind how a trick was done. Some people get hung up on this notion and immediately put up blinders to what we do.  This is something that I am quick to put to bed because my goal is not to be a stumbling block.  I am a Christian Illusionist, but my goal is to share the Gospel first and foremost.  There will always be friction when following Christ.

Use me

I realized that God could use this interest and hobby to break down walls in people’s lives. God was asking me to follow Him.  When I wasn’t sure where He was leading me, He basically said, “Trust me.”

I discovered that there were people out there who would never darken the door of a church, but would come see an illusionist.  After gaining their trust by performing a fun and entertaining show, they were willing to listen to the message of Christ. This opened my eyes to the fact that God could use this crazy hobby that I had to reach people with the greatest truth and news known to mankind.

One of my favorite verses became,

New American Standard Bible (©1995)
“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

Christ in Me

If we are willing to let Christ live through us, He will lead us into opportunities to share His name.  Not everyone is called into full time ministry.  Not everyone is called into bi-vocational ministry.  However every single person who follows Jesus Christ IS called to share His name with everyone we come in contact with.

Whatever gift or ability you have use it for the glory of God.  Some of the things I’ve seen God do has been amazing.  I’ve seen people come to know Christ who have told me that they have never prayed before.  Things that we take for granted. That they would not have come to hear an ordinary speaker, but because I was an illusionist they came.

Whatever talents or gifts that you have, if you are willing to give them over to be used by God, He can do some awesome things through us.

The question now is why do you do what you do?

Do you glorify God through your gifts and abilities?

BryanDrakeShow.com

Facebook.com/thebryandrakeshow

Twitter.com/BryanDrakeShow

Leave a Reply

