Insights through Illusion for Daily Living

Wasting an Opportunity Can Haunt you Forever

Missed Opportunities

When God called me into ministry, I struggled with the direction in which He lead me.  I didn’t know if I would be a student minister,a pastor, or any other assortment of full-time positions.  What I did know however is that He called me to the ministry to reach people with the message of Christ.

You might be thinking, “Hey wait, I read the Great Commission too…isn’t that what everyone is supposed to do?”

Yes.

The difference was, that I knew that God was calling me into a full time ministry of sharing the Gospel.  It was a few years later that I realized He would have me in front of thousands every year.  I didn’t realize then that I would have the opportunity to share His message across the world.  I did know one thing though…I could not miss an opportunity to share His message.

I learned this the hard way.

My senior year in high school, I was sitting with some friends in the library.  Both of the guys I was sitting with were proclaimed atheists.  They both knew that I was a Christian, and they both knew that I had never approached them with the Gospel.  As the conversation went on, I was trying to impress them and said some things that I shouldn’t have said.  Brandon, one of the guys, looked me square in the eye and said, “I thought you were a Christian.”  He didn’t mean it to be a conversation ender, but I was gone.  I was sitting there, but my insides were in a tempest.

What just happened?  I claimed to be a Christian, I claimed to be an example of Christ…instead I pushed people away.  God used this to get my attention and completely change my outlook. I decided I was tired of being hypocritical.

A few years later on a Wednesday night, I was teaching Jr. High youth. I told them this same story and preached about being hot, not lukewarm.  That night God put on my heart that I needed to call Brandon and share the Gospel with him……….

My Response

That was my reaction, “…Really God? Out of the blue? That’s crazy God, can’t it wait?”

The pressure was strong, and the Spirit was relentless, but my answer was, “I’ll do it later God”

Sunday came around, and I had forgotten the conviction…until that night.  I felt God pushing again.  I made up my mind that I would email him….eventually because I wouldn’t have to read his response.  The conviction went away, until the next Wednesday.

Missed Opportunity

At the time I was working at a bank.  I got a call that afternoon from a friend.  She asked me if I heard what had happened.  I said no, and she told me something that changed my life.

She said Brandon killed himself last night…

Silence…

I have never been punched in the gut, but I know what it feels like now.

I knew what God was telling me to do.  I knew He was giving me an opportunity to test my obedience. I have no clue what the outcome would have been had I called Brandon like God told me, but I do no that I will be haunted for the rest of my life by my disobedience.

From that point on, I made up my mind that I was not going to waste another opportunity to share the Gospel.  That is when I took God’s call to evangelism seriously, and have never looked back.

What opportunities have you missed?

What opportunities did you act on?

BryanDrakeShow.com

Facebook.com/thebryandrakeshow

Twitter.com/BryanDrakeShow

Leave a Reply

